Purcell, Roger: Scaling The Heights (Astute Music)

Be the first to review this product

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

Scaling the Heights is a collection of original, solo study pieces for clarinet progressing in difficulty, from Grade 1 to Grade 8, with some tough ones thrown in for the seriously determined!

Purcell, Roger: Scaling The Heights (Astute Music)

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views


The book includes helpful information to enable the student to gain maximum benefit from practicing these.

Scaling the Heights contains 64 graded studies, 2 concert pieces and 5 duets.

As versatility is now expected of the modern clarinetist, the styles within vary, and should be interpreted accordingly. However, many of the studies are in ‘swing’ style, as this musical form lends itself to some interesting rhythm, and is fun to play.

To help with the more demanding pieces, an advanced, altissimo register fingering chart is available in ‘The Advanced Edition: Clarinet Technique’ also available form Astute Music. This is to assist you in selecting the most appropriate fingerings. The chart is not only for reference, but should be studied thoroughly, to enable you to make choices regarding fingering patterns.

The clarinet is a wonderfully fascinating musical instrument and, for some, can become a magnificent obsession. I have gained much pleasure and satisfaction during the past 35 years from seeing my students develop their musicianship and abilities but, above all, their enthusiasm for music, and our chosen instrument, is special.

This book has been a ‘labour of love’ and, in working on it. I have endeavoured to write pieces which are challenging, rewarding and enjoyable to practice. I hope I have been successful in doing so, and that this work will serve in helping you to share in my own enthusiasm, assists you in achieving your potential and, ultimately, your own musical aspirations. Enjoy!

Additional Information

Composer Roger Purcell
Secondary Composer / Arranger No
Subtitle No
Edition number No
Instrument / Forces No
Part / Version / Format No
Contents / Songlist

Going Places
Scaling the Heights
Paris Nights
Out of Sync
Lonely Hearts
Dance of the Pagliacci (clowns)
Off the Mark
Hop, Skip and Jump
Rock On!
In the Swing
Sometime S

Series No
Publisher No

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.